Flag of Ecuador, History of the Ecuador Flag

Ecuador's flag consists of three horizontal bands of yellow (top, double width), blue and red with a coat of arms placed over the center of the flag.

The Blue symbolizes independence from Spain. The Yellow recalls the Federation of Greater Colombia and the red symbolizes courage. This flag came into use on 7 November 1900.


Ecuador’s coat of arms was adopted by the National Congress in 1900. The meaning of it is rather complex. The four national folded flags act as supporters and between them are palm and laurel branches symbolizing victory. The Andean Condor perched at the top serves as protection for the country under its outstretched wings. It stands ready to strike any enemy. At the base is a lictoral fasces representing dignity. In the background is the magnificent Chimborazo Mountain, the highest peak in the Andes. It is said that when snow falls on this mountain it gives birth to the Guayas River. The imagery symbolizes the brotherhood of the Sierra and the Coast. In the center is the steamboat ‘Guayas’ crossing a wide river. This was the first boat of its kind in Ecuador and in South America. The ship’s mast is in fact a caduceus (a rod with two wings at the top and two snakes encircling it) which symbolizes “accord and trade”. On a band across the sky are the zodiacal signs for Aries, Taurus, Gemini and Cancer, corresponding to March, April, May, and June – all these months are historically significant to Ecuadorians. Centered among these is the sun, an ancient Incan symbol.

Ecuador has a special day dedicated to their flag called ‘Jura a la Bandera’ or ‘Pledge to the Flag’. On historical days that demark important days in Ecuador’s history, the Ecuadorian flag is proudly displayed in almost all the homes throughout the country. The Ecuadorians are very proud of their flag; it has a high place in their hearts and in their minds.

back to Travel