Official holidays

Below you will find a list of all official, public and national holidays for Ecuador.

New Year’s Day (Día de Año Nuevo)
– 1st of January

Ecuadorians usher in the New Year by making dummies out of paper, wood and firecrackers, said to represent the old year, and setting them alight at midnight. Children roam about the streets asking for sweets and money. Along with local traditions, there are parties at nightclubs and other functions to welcome the New Year.

Maundy Thursday (Jueves Santo)
– 4th of February

Also referred to as Holy Thursday, Maudy Thursday memorializes Jesus Christ’s last supper with his apostles. It is held on the Thursday before Easter, forming the fifth day of Holy Week.

Good Friday (Viernes Santo)

This Christian event commemorates the death of Jesus Christ. Religious services are held on the day and some consider it a day of fasting.

International Worker’s Day (Día del Trabajo)
– 1st of May

Also known as May Day, this is a celebration of the labor movement. It also marks the start of spring. On this day labor unions and workers may gather for celebrations and demonstrations

The Battle of Pichincha (Batalla del Pichincha)
– 24th of May

This day commemorates the historic battle that took place on the slopes of Ecuador’s Pichincha Volcano in 1822. On this day the Royalist army was defeated by the Patriot army and Quito was liberated, bringing independence to the Presidencia de Quito region, from which the Republic of Ecuador was eventually formed.</ p>

The Birthday of Simón Bolívar (El Natalicio de Simón Bolivar)
– 24th of July

This day is a reminder of the role Simón Bolívar played in bringing about the independence of Ecuador. Simón Bolívar was born in Venezuela in 1783 and became a renowned liberator in Latin America.

National Flag Day
– 26th of September

If you ever visit Ecuador in September and suddenly see a lot of proud people, carrying their national tricolor symbols – don’t be surprised. You’ve encountered a special event, which is important for the citizens of Ecuador – their National Flag Day, which is celebrated on September 26 each year.

Declaration of Independence of Quito (Día del Primer Grito de Independencia de Quito )
– 8th of October

On this day in 1809, Juan Pío Montúfar was made president in a plan to establish a government and gain independence from Spain.

Independence of Guayaquil (Independencia de Guayaquil)
– 9th of October

Back in 1820 a group of civilians and “Granaderos de Reserva” soldiers overwhelmed the Royalists and also arrested the Spanish authorities. The city declared independence, a major step in the Ecuadorian War for Independence

All Souls’ Day (Día de Muertos)
– 2nd of November

This day commemorates those who have died. Also known as Feast of All Souls, prayers for the departed are offered and mass is held.

Independence of Cuenca (Independencia de Cuenca)
– 3rd of November

Cuenca gained its independence on this day in 1820. This day is celebrated by those living in Cuenca as it forms a vital part of Ecuador’s War for Independence.

Foundation of Quito (Día de Quito)
– 6th of December

Quito was founded on this day in 1534 by a group of settlers who were led by Sebastián de Benalcázar, who was responsible for the capture of Rumiñahui.

Christmas Day (Día de Navidad)
– 25th of December

Christmas Day is a Christian event that celebrates the birth of Jesus Christ. As with Christmas around the world, common customs include gift-giving, church services, and Christmas decorations.

New Year’s Eve (Día de Año Viejo)
– 31st of December

This festive occasion is marked with music, dancing, feasting and fireworks.

back to About Ecuador